Colby Community College sophomore Emily Davis and fall semester graduate Emma Lehman were named to the PTK All-Kansas Academic Team during the Annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon on April 12 in Junction City.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the national honor society of the two-year college. The organization focuses on leadership, scholarship, service, and fellowship, connecting students to growth opportunities and potential transfer scholarships. Students must have at least a 3.5 GPA to be accepted.

Davis is a graduate of Roosevelt High School in Johnstown, Colo., majoring in biology. The treasurer for CCC's Rho Iota PTK chapter and a two-year member of the Trojans softball team, she is the daughter of Michele Davis and Richard Davis. After graduating in May, Davis will pursue a degree in biology from Fort Hays State University.

"I have enjoyed my time at CCC and loved being part of the softball team and community involvement!" she said. "I am excited for my future endeavors!"

A Goodland High School alumna, Lehman graduated with associate degrees in exercise science and physical education at the end of the fall 2023 semester. Currently, she is enrolled in the Fort Hays State nursing program, working towards a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. Her long-term goal is to earn a doctorate in nursing and become a nurse practitioner.

The daughter of Marty and Jennifer Lehman, she served as vice president of public relations for PTK during her time at Colby. She was also a Presidential Scholar and played on the Trojans volleyball team for two seasons.

"CCC was one of the best experiences I have had," she said. "I was lucky to play under Head Coach Carey Jones, who made my experience the best possible. President Seth Carter is unbeaten; he strives to better CCC continuously, and that community could not have asked for a better college president. Colby is such an amazing community. Everyone is like family. I will always be thankful for the experiences I had and the lifelong friends I met."    

Also attending the event at the Courtyard by Marriott were President Carter, Vice President of Student Affairs Nikol Nolan, Phi Theta Kappa advisor Sami Talsma, and Board of Trustees member Arlen Leiker. Others present were university representatives, legislators and staff from the Kansas Board of Regents.

Each student is now a candidate for the All-USA Academic Team.